The ELCA is a community of faith that shares a passion for making positive changes in the world.  Our faith is built around a strong belief in God as made know to us in Jesus Christ.  Through worship, service and education, we practice our faith, grow our relationship with God and experience God's grace in our lives.  The organization is made We are members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA).  up of nearly 10,500 congregations across the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands with nearly five million members. 
The New Jersey Synod is a geographical grouping of congregations of the ELCA.  It is one of 65 ELCA synods which share the mission and ministry of the Church in New Jersey.  It is composed of approximately 190 congregations with 80,000 baptized members. 

     Church Staff
     Pastor:  Rev. Althea Albright

     Music Director:  Scott J. Breiner
     Church Secretary:  Diana McArdle
     Sexton:  Andrew McCarrick


    Officers and Church Council
       President:  Jim Forman* (2020)
       Vice President:  Steve Gring* (2020)
       Secretary:  Jill Welfield* (2020)
       Treasurer:  Heidi Toth
       Financial Secretaries:  Ruth Bowden, Sandy Piskun,
                                                       and Jill Welfield

                                            *Also council members
     Remaining Council Members     
Charles Bowden (2020)
      Ellie Granieri (2021)
      Jim Merce (2021)
      Larry Rusiecki (2021)
      Aud Suckiel (2021)  (Year denotes end of Council Term)

Ministries, Teams, and Organizations 

Team Leader(s) and Council Liaison (L) (where appropriate)
Call (609) 927-3082 for additional information

 Choir- Scott Breiner   
 Support Team - Charles Bowden (L)
 Worship Team -  Scott Breiner, Diana McArdle
 Wedding Coordinator -  Roberta Blumenthal
 Head Usher -  John Staples
 Facilities Management - Karl Suckiel 
 Building Use -  Jill Welfield (L)
 Synod Council Representative - Shirley Blankenship
 Altar Guild - Brenda Traa
 Homebound Ministry - Shirley Blankenship

 Ecumenical Food Pantry - Jim Cordery, George McNally
 Outreach - Jill Welfield (L)
 The Messenger  (newsletter) - Linda Rothermel, Diana McArdle
 Tape Ministry -  Jim Foreman (L), Larry Rusiecki (L)
 Website - John Staples
 Events Coordinator - Mary Goodman
 Fellowship - Mary Goodman, Linda Rhil
 Lutheran Church Women - Bettie Cross
 Grace Stitchers (Knitters) -  Bettie Cross 
 Peace Quilters - Shirley Blankenship 



Grace Lutheran Church
11 E. Dawes Ave
(on Shore Road between Meyran
 and Dawes Aves)
Somers Point, New Jersey 08244
(609) 927-3082

Office Hours:
Monday - Thursday 10:00am - 1:00 p.m.